Home   |    About    |    Help   

Friday, February 15, 2008

7 films shortlisted for visual effects Oscar

"Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End" -- the sequel to last year's visual effects Oscar winner "Dead Man's Chest" -- made the shortlist for this year's Academy Awards VFX category, while "Spider-Man 3" -- the sequel to 2005 category winner "Spider-Man 2" -- did not.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences said that seven films remain in contention for achievement in visual effects for the 80th Annual Academy Awards, down from a list of 15 released last month. Surprising some, the seven are "The Bourne Ultimatum," "Evan Almighty," "The Golden Compass," "I Am Legend," "300," "Transformers" and the aforementioned "At World's End."

"Spider-Man 3" failed to make the shortlist, as did the sequel "Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix," though all four previous "Potter" films were shortlisted in past years.

The closely watched performance-capture-based "Beowulf" also was passed over this year.

No comments:

Post a Comment